Sticks and stones

By Jfinn08

This incident, that happened to my husband and children weeks ago, still has me furious.

My husband took the kids to our local playground on a Sunday afternoon to spend some time with them and to give me a break.  My son was off exploring the variety of play equipment the playground has to offer and my husband was pushing my daughter on the Liberty Swing.  My daughter has CP and cannot sit without support so this swing is her only means of enjoyment at this playground.  She just loves this swing.  A group of boys started to gather around the swing and stare.  They weren’t content with playing on the playground nor did they think to leave my daughter to enjoy this time with her father.  My husband politely gestured for them to move along but his request was ignored.  Instead, one of the boys called out to others to “Come and watch the show”.  He then turned to the growing audience and said “She’s demented”.  Well,  my husband then, not so politely yelled at them to go away (of course not his exact words).  This finally sent them on their way….running.  Another thing that amazed me,  was that all of these children had parents nearby who chose to ignore their behaviour, until they heard my husband shout at them. 

So, instead of my family returning home with smiles on their faces, they arrived home upset.  My husband was so furious that he wanted to punch the boy’s father, who he blamed for the incident.  My son said “It hurt me too that they stared and said things about my sister”.  My daughter cannot talk so she couldn’t tell me how she felt, but her eyes told me.

1 Comment

Filed under 1, jfinn08

One response to “Sticks and stones

  1. activevoice1

    What a horrible experience for you all. Some humans are gross. Hopefully one day soon you will experience empathy and simple kindness – maybe from a stranger. Funnily enough, this can evoke just as strong emotions, but is much more welcome!

Leave a Reply

