Robin Hood

Cross posted at Terrible Palsy

Below is an email I sent this morning:-

Dear friends and family,

My apologies for the group email.

You may have heard this morning that our government has decided to scrap the carer’s bonus in the fight against inflation. My thoughts regarding this would not be fit for printing.

You all know my son Marshall, or know of him. He has cerebral palsy resulting from his premature birth. I can say without a shadow of a doubt that my life is better for having him with me. I am thankful each and every day for this blessing. And besides which, he is incredibly cute – watch this if you don’t believe me.
What has been a constant struggle since his birth is the fight for services, equipment, therapy and medical treatment. This struggle leaves me often exhausted. If I look tired to you, this is the reason. And now, with this announcement, i feel like we have received another kick in the teeth.

I am not ashamed to say that i was counting on the bonus payment this year. Marshall needs a powerchair. This is not a luxury item. He has every right to have a means of getting him wherever he wants or needs to go. We are in the process of jumping through the hoops to get him one though I am aware that we will have to pay a contribution toward it if we get approval – this approval can take up to 18 months to get. Whether this contribution is a couple of thousands dollars or ten thousand dollars – i don’t know. But I had earmarked the bonus payment to go towards this. All of his carers payment goes into an account where it is solely spent on him and equipment for him. Needless to say, the carers payment doesn’t even come close to covering his equipment needs, but it does help.

I have set up an on-line petition. I urge you to follow the link and sign it. Please feel free to stop by and have a read of the other comments.

You can find the petition here.

Thank you,
Jacqui

ps – i don’t mind if you forward this email on.

Leave a comment

Filed under terriblepalsy

Leave a Reply

